Question: Is veganism the ideal Muslim diet?

It’s interesting that I came across this – because ironically enough, my husband and I were at McDonalds (I know, I know..) munching on our reconstituted animal protein and ‘cheese food’ the other day, debating this very issue.

Basically, the ‘facts’ I presented were:

– Since Islam is very pro-animal rights, wouldn’t it be technically BETTER for our souls to not consume animal flesh?

– If the Prophet (SAWS) were alive today, I somehow doubt he would consider even zabiha halal meat ‘Islamically halal‘ due to the heinous ‘living’ (and I use the term ‘living’ very loosely here) conditions of most of the animals before death.

– I’m sure the Prophet (SAWS) would probably also disapprove of the amount of animal products that we are consuming. (Never mind the sheer amounts of food and waste, in general!)

Anyway, please check out the blog post below for a much more in-depth overview from a Muslim vegan perspective:

http://islamicvegan.blogspot.com/

2 responses to “Question: Is veganism the ideal Muslim diet?

  1. “The (faithful) slaves of the Beneficent are they who walk upon the earth modestly, and when the foolish ones address them answer: Peace;”

    (The Qur’an (Pickthall tr), Sura 25 – The Criterion)

    “Walking upon the Earth modestly” really covers a lot of ethical ground and is a pretty profound statement, really, in a lot of ways: environmentally, animal rights, conservation, non-materialism, etc.

    Simply from the standpoint that the grain, land & water used to provide meat to a certain group of people could feed many, many times as many if it was in vegetable matter, I think the correct path is pretty clear considering that people of faith are expected to feed the hungry.

    Being vegan is really very difficult to do; there are some amino acids that you must have that are only available to vegans if they are extraordinarily strict in planning their diets. I’ve never known a pure vegan that looked terribly healthy or robust. We have the digestive system of an omnivore and are designed to eat animal protean, just not nearly as much as we have now.

    • Yeah, I’m probably a lifetime omnivore to some degree (but less and less so as time goes on, or so it seems).

      However, the idea of being vegan is very appealing. I even have fantasies of becoming a raw foodist or fruitarian. Not that that’s going to happen, but it’s certainly interesting to think about.

      These feelings, I believe, are mostly from the ‘icky’ and ‘dirty’ feelings I get when I consume many types of food.

Leave a Reply

