Rant: Stories like this make me angry..

I read this story last night, and I couldn’t help but become seriously upset and annoyed. Maybe I’m just being overly-sensitive.

Please check it out and let me know if you can understand what about it pissed me off.

http://www.igotitcovered.org/?p=2739

** UPDATE **

I have been contacted by the original posters of the story, and they wanted to clarify that their original point was not as I read into it. I like to take people at their word – and God only knows how we can read the wrong meanings into text! Please check the comments for further clarification.

** UPDATE II **

The ending to the story has now been changed by the author to clear up her intention for the piece. It’s now apparent that she was not saying what I originally believed. May God bless her for her efforts. 🙂

10 responses to “Rant: Stories like this make me angry..

  1. My family lost two little sisters to SIDS. It was the epitome of insensitivity for people to ask if they’d been Baptized. Just incredible.

    So what if she hadn’t wore the hijab? If our place in Heaven depends on such minutia we are all in a whole lot of trouble. I can’t imagine how people’s minds work some times…

  2. EXACTLY!!!

    The whole ‘imagine if she hadn’t put it on!!’ mentality.. Like if this 10 year old girl didn’t wear hijab that God was going to throw her into the pits of Hell and torture her for all eternity?

    I wanted to reach out and strangle the author and anyone else with that mindset.

  3. I’m sorry about the SIDS, Curtis. That must have been hard. I hope they smacked the morons who made that comment!

    Did they really think Jesus (PBUH), their epitome of divine love would banish infants to hell because they didn’t have some holy water sprinkled on their head?

    I seriously wonder how people can continue to worship God if they have these cruel ideas of what God is.

  4. Assalamu alaikum — I’m from the hijab website you linked to, and I completely understand what you’re saying (based on the comments).

    However, I know the writer, and I’m sure that’s not what she intended. For one, towards the end of the story, she writes “Imagine if Lana had known she had to wear hijab, but decided it wasn’t time yet.” So perhaps “Lana” did NOT have to wear hijab yet, but she still chose to do so.

    The point with this story was not necessarily whether “Lana” herself did or did not wear hijab; rather, the point was that death can come at any time, even to a 10 year old girl, so women who are obligated to wear hijab should not procrastinate, thinking they can “always do it later.”

    But you also said, “Like if this 10 year old girl didn’t wear hijab that God was going to throw her into the pits of Hell and torture her for all eternity?”

    To be fair, even if the story should have made its point clearer, that meaning/statement you mention shouldn’t be extracted from what’s written.

    For one, as Muslims, we know a person becomes accountable when they reach puberty, irrespective of the age. Again, speaking in general, and not necessarily about this girl.

    At the same time, when a person commits a sin (any sin) after the age of puberty, we believe they become deserving, susceptible of Allah’s punishment. We cannot (and do not) say that a person WILL go to Hell, or WILL receive Allah’s punishment – because it’s up to Allah whether to forgive the person or to punish them.

    Still, that a person commits a sin or becomes deserving of Allah’s punishment is not a small thing. It’s part of our religion to warn against it, and to advise others to do good. But even while advising others to hijab, on our website, we understand that it’s important not to judge sisters who do not wear it or to suppose ourselves to be better than them (see this post as an example: http://www.igotitcovered.org/?p=2032 ).

    Finally, it’s from the sound belief of a Muslim that even if Muslims sin and Allah chooses to punish them with Hellfire, so long as they had tawheed in their heart, they will not be “torture[d] for all eternity.” Rather, they will be punished for a time, and then taken out of Hellfire.

    You may already know all this, and in the end we may still disagree on certain things; but I’m simply pointing it out because I know the sister would never say most of those things.

    At any rate, I will let the writer know, in case she wants to go back in to make things clearer. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.

    • Thanks for making this clear – I’m always up for correction.

      I think it was the ending that threw me.. The whole “what if she hadn’t”. It made me upset to think that the author was saying that she would be facing some punishment otherwise, which upset me, considering the child was only 10 years old or so.

      I’ll put a little disclaimer on my original post asking any later readers to check out the comments for clarification on the story.

  5. I can understand why you might be angry, but I think you missed the point in the story where the sister mentioned that the 10-year-old girl had not reached puberty, and would not be accountable for her actions, had she decided not to wear the hijab.

    Allah is All-Merciful, and only He can be the judge of who deserves Paradise and who deserves Hell. I don’t think that the author’s intentions were what you made it out to be, but rather she wanted to choose a small example of what us adults do everyday, which is procrastinate in our acts of worship. Death can come to us at anytime, so we should hasten to do good deeds so that we may achieve the best reward in the Hereafter.

    Of those good deeds, us sisters believe that wearing the hijab is one of them. The blog merely serves as a place for other sisters, who also believe this, to find support and encouragement in wearing the hijab in our modern society.

    • It was fine until the part at the end along the lines of, “imagine what would have happened if she didn’t wear hijab“.

      As I promised the other poster, I did put a disclaimer on the post referring later readers to the comments section for clarification.

      Thank you for bringing this to my attention. 🙂

      • Umm Salma, that clarification about the girl possibly not having reached puberty was added/made last night after I got it touch with the writer, alhamdulillah.

        Blog author (sorry, I’d feel horrible calling you “badmuslim”), I hope the clarification does make things clearer? That whole paragraph towards the end was tweaked a little after I contacted the original writer.

      • Thank you, you’re very sweet. 🙂

        The ‘Bad Muslim’ is kind of tongue in cheek. I’ve had people calling me ‘kaffir’ and ‘secret Jew’ and all kinds of crazy things because I question some of the craziness in the ummah.

        People like you who can discuss without mud-slinging are part of what helps keep my faith that the ummah can evolve to better places.

        Keep speaking out!

        Love and salaams,

        Blog Author (I need to think of another name, lol) 🙂

  6. I think that’s one reason why – despite a continuing high percentage of people who believe in a supreme power – regular attendance in places of worship continue to fall.

    I also believe that is why we have progressive revelation, and why I believe that will never stop. Prophets do so much more than reinforce unchanging spiritual laws and bring social laws to serve the exigencies of the time in which the dispensation is made; they bring to us (and I mean the whole planet) a spiritual power, a mystic energy that falls upon all of us equally. That is why each successive Prophet is followed by a wave of innovation, thought & creation (the good kind), even in areas of the world that has never heard of Him.

    The world constantly changes. If we consider the historical context in which revelations from God were dispensed we would realize the social laws of the Prophets were absolutely necessarry at the time they were given. But people advance and change; we graduate from one level of spiritual awareness to another – as a people, the whole world does this as a result of the grace and mystical power of God that is brought to us all when a Messenger arrives from God.

    Religion is like the cycle of the seasons; there is the Winter when all is dead and the light from God seems dim & distant. There is the Spring when God sends to us a Teacher, and the light of God increases and is felt by all, and life begins to about and spirits are resurrected within those who were ‘dead.’ Then there is the Summer when God’s light is at its maximum and all around new life abounds and the spiritual energy that is given to us is at it’s maximum. And then the Fall, when the light begins to dim, and through innovation and corruption of misguided individuals the message of religion becomes perverted and misinterpreted.

    Despite all of the lessons and all of the teachings this will always happen, because we are human and we fall short; we fail in our weaknesses. To suggest that God will send an infant to hell, or that women should be kept in ignorance, or that because they are a ‘chosen people’ they can do no wrong and promulgate horrible oppression upon others are simply signs of the corruption of God’s lessons of love & mercy by mortal man. That is why His grace, His love and revelations to us will never end. Though we give up on ourselves from time to time, God will never, ever give up on us and withhold His grace from mankind.

    Sorry. This just got me going…

Leave a Reply

